computer on a stick

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0PiJeiaMq3E

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XsMNbGZOYvk

The computer on a stick or “cotton candy” to call it by the right name, is by Norwegian company FXI, and is one small computer, that could turn every screen in your house into a cloud computer. this computer can run either Android or Linux. the computer is not out yet but should be out mid 2012

from fxi company web site http://www.fxitech.com/

benefits

  • Provide consumer-friendly access to the Cloud
  • Accelerate the adoption of “smart screens”
  • Extend the life of consumer hardware like laptops, monitors, TVs, set top boxes, tablets and more by accessing the latest OS, software and apps.
  • Provide a consistent experience across all screens
  • Create a single point of content storage.
  • Consolidation and organization of personal digital content.
  • Share media from mobile devices on large screens and projectors – videos, movies, photos, games and more.
  • Drive down the cost of computing, allowing more people to have a personal, secure computer.

spec

Quad Core ARM® Mali™-400MP Graphics Processing Unit
-Quad-core ARM Mali-400MP 720p / 1080p OpenGL ES v2.0
-30M Polygons, 1.2 GPixels / s

ARM® Cortex™-A9@1.2GHz
-NEON extensions
-TrustZone extensions

Connectivity
-Wifi 802.11 b/g/n
-Bluetooth 2.1 + EDR

Memory
-1GB DRAM
-Up to 64GB memory local storage (microSD)

Software
-Android
-Ubuntu
-Virtualization client for Windows, Linux, Mac, embedded

Video / Audio / Media Support
-480p/720p/1080p decode of MPEG4-SP/H.263/H.264 AVC/MPEG-2/VC1
-MP3, AAC, AAC+, Real Audio
-JPG, GIF, BMP, PNG
-Additional video, audio and image formats can be supported through 3rd party codecs

Connectors
-USB 2.0 male form factor for power and connection to devices that supports USB mass storage
-HDMI 2.1 with audio for connection to devices that does not support USB mass storage

more on the computer and the company that built it

9 thoughts on “computer on a stick

  1. An interesting dialogue is value comment. I believe that you must write extra on this matter, it may not be a taboo topic however usually people are not enough to speak on such topics. To the next. Cheers

  2. Very useful blog. It was very useful. I was looking exaxtly for this. Thank you for your effort. I hope you will write more such useful posts.

  3. Hello! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after checking through some of the post I realized it’s new to me. Anyways, I’m definitely glad I found it and I’ll be bookmarking and checking back frequently!

  4. Hello, i think that i saw you visited my blog so i came to “return the favor”.I’m attempting to find things to enhance my website!I suppose its ok to use some of your ideas!!

  5. Unquestionably believe that which you stated. Your favourite justification appeared to be on the net the simplest factor to bear in mind of. I say to you, I definitely get annoyed even as people consider concerns that they just don’t recognise about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and defined out the entire thing with no need side-effects , people can take a signal. Will probably be again to get more. Thank you

  6. Thankyou for this your blog it is very knowledgableand this post is amazing

  7. I’m impressed, I must say. Really rarely do I encounter a blog that’s both educative and entertaining, and let me tell you, you have hit the nail on the head. Your idea is outstanding; the issue is something that not enough people are speaking intelligently about. I am very happy that I stumbled across this in my search for something relating to this.

  8. Im glad to have located this post as its such an interesting one! I am always on the lookout for quality posts and posts so i suppose im lucky to have located this! I hope you will be adding more in the future…

Comments are closed.